Current Council

Council Members

Kirsten Westwood - President

Kirsten is the Head of School for the School of Health and Sport Science at EIT.  Prior to this she acquired a variety of experience from different sectors in the UK and NZ; with a background in commercial law, human resources and health promotion.  

Kirsten has a love of learning and a keen interest in population health issues and health inequality. Alongside her role as President of the Hawke’s Bay Medical Research Foundation, Kirsten is the committee chair for the Hawke’s Bay branch of the Heart Foundation and a member of the Hawke’s Bay Public Health Association.

David Barry

Was appointed by the Council as a member of Council and Medical Director 22yrs ago. He was a Paediatric specialist for the Hawkes Bay Hospital Board and its successors for thirty four years. David participated in Regional, National and International clinical research in childhood diseases(Rheumatic Fever, New-born Infection, Cot Death, Asthma & Allergy and Obesity). He has had governance experience in ; The Asthma and Respiratory Foundation of NZ, Committees of Royal Australasian College of Physicians and the Paediatric Society of NZ, the Central Regional Health Authority and the HBDHB. His current roles are with the Hawkes Bay Digital Archives Trust, the Scott Trust Fund and Breathe HB (formerly Asthma HB)

Michael Jackson - Treasurer

Michael is the Managing Director of the progressive Hastings based Chartered Accounting firm, PKF Carr & Stanton Ltd, where he works with many of Hawke's Bay organisations, helping clients to unlock the potential in their business and achieve their strategic goals.

Michael is a Chartered Accountant, also a Director at PKF New Zealand Ltd, and Trustee of the Hawke’s Bay Rescue Helicopter Trust

Helen Francis

Helen is a registered general and mental health nurse who has specialised in community and primary care.  She is a Senior Advisor in Primary care at the Ministry of Health and is currently on secondment to the National Health Coordination Centre for Covid19 Response.

Helen is the Napier City Council, representative on the HBMRF.

She is also an elected Trustee on the Hawke’s Bay Power Consumers’ Trust and has completed her PhD with Massey University studying the needs of people with multiple long-term health conditions.

Di Petersen

Di is appointed by the Central Hawke’s Bay District Council and has been on the Council since 1995.  She is very involved in the Central Hawke’s Bay community in Health, Justice and Social services as well as Victim Support and Family Violence prevention. She is also a Trustee of various organisations including CHB Health, the CHB District Community Trust, (which owns the AW Parsons indoor Pool and stadium) and Central Hawke’s Bay Mayoral Health Taskforce.


Paul Hendy

Paul has predominantly worked as a general practitioner in Napier since 1984. His interests are in internal medicine, pain control and immune therapy for allergy. He works in crisis mental health for the DHB and has also spent time in medical work in the Kingdom of Tonga, Pune India, PNG as well as three six month periods under the NHS in England. He attempts to read widely in areas of research and aim to apply these findings to the practical aspects of medical practice. In his spare time enjoys running, tramping, trumpet and motorcycling.


Alwyn Corban

Alwyn represents Hastings District Council on the HBMRF. After a long career as a winemaker Alwyn now has a mixed portfolio of interests.  He is a business consultant, mentor and a “not for profit” trustee. 

Alwyn is a trustee of Hawkes Bay Youth Development Trust (Graeme Dingle Foundation) which runs a suite of programmes in Hastings schools that build resilience in our children with an emphasis on mental resilience and is also a trustee of Napier Pilot City Trust which has the mission of building a kinder and fairer city through child friendly policies and restorative justice practices.